Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening Apple Books.If Apple Books doesn't open, click the Books app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download


Book 9, Alex Hawke Novels - An Alex Hawke Novel

This book can be downloaded and read in Apple Books on your Mac or iOS device.


Intelligence officer Alex Hawke takes on power-hungry Russian President Vladimir Putin, who is wielding a terrifying new weapon, in the latest adrenaline-fueled thriller in Ted Bell’s New York Times bestselling series.

In corrupt Russia, an erratic Vladimir Putin is determined to forge his country into a formidable superpower once again. He intends to redraw the map of Europe, and will go to impossible extremes to realize his fantasies—including shooting down a civilian airliner packed with tourists bound for China. Kremlin scientists have developed a radical new weapon that could forever alter modern warfare. NATO, locked in a tense standoff over Ukraine, Poland, and Estonia, knows Putin will not hesitate to use it. But there is one man who can bring the world back from the brink: Britain’s foremost intelligence asset, Lord Alexander Hawke.

The intrepid MI6 officer’s latest challenge begins in the Gulf of Aden and soon has him searching for the link to a series of bizarre assassinations. Spies are dying all over the world—from London, Washington, D.C., and Maine, to Moscow, and even the glittering Cote d’Azur. In the murky world of counterterrorism and high-stakes intrigue, the odds have never been higher. Once again, Alex Hawke must save the world . . . one bullet at a time.

From Publishers Weekly

Aug 03, 2015 – A secret mission in Cuba goes awry in the prologue of bestseller Bell's fast-paced ninth Alexander Hawke thriller (after 2014's Warriors), but the MI6 agent (and sixth richest man in England) and his pal Stokely Jones, a former Navy SEAL, manage to fight their way to safety. Soon Hawke is back in his Bermuda home, Teakettle Cottage, enjoying his favorite libation, Gosling's rum. Meanwhile, Brett "Beau" Beauregard, a retired U.S. Army colonel who runs a private security company, orders his minions to target agents he believes have wronged him in the past. One of Beauregard's men goes after Hawke in Bermuda, and the ensuing battle nearly destroys Teakettle Cottage. Vladimir Putin, who saved Hawke's life in an earlier book, plays a role that ricochets back and forth between friend and foe. The villain who runs down the CIA director's pet dog gets her just reward. Better than any writer in the thriller genre, Bell mashes up old-fashioned boys' adventure with modern military action.

Customer Reviews

Disgusting and despicable

I normally thoroughly enjoy the Alex Hawke books. I cannot believe how low Mr. Bell stooped to go through excruciating detail on killing Mr. Kelly's dog. To devote to full chapters on this subject was disgusting and a waste of time and did nothing to move the plot forward. There was no sensible good reason to put this much detail in the book. Obviously I am a great dog lover and was totally turned off by this section of the book. The rest of the book and plot seems ridiculous unbelievable and has turned out to be a waste of my time and money. I am so disappointed in this book, I have read all the other Alex Hawke novels and enjoyed them thoroughly but this one goes to the bottom of the bucket. The plot borders on the ridiculous. What was Mr. Bell thinking when he wrote this in the book. I have to ask what would Mr. Hawke,s son Alexei think of the way this was portrayed and why was it done.


Great read. Exciting to the end.


Preposterous, predictable, and very preachy.

Other Books in This Series

Crash Dive
White Death
View in iTunes
  • $9.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Mysteries & Thrillers
  • Published: Sep 15, 2015
  • Publisher: William Morrow
  • Print Length: 704 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 9, Alex Hawke Novels
  • Requirements: This book can only be viewed on an iOS device with Apple Books on iOS 12 or later, iBooks 1.5 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings