Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download


Book 4, The Pendragon Cycle - Book Four of the Pendragon Cycle

This book can be downloaded and read in iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


At the dawn of his reign, a young king confronts his destiny—and must prove his greatness . . . or lose a realm

Arthur is King—but treachery runs rampant throughout the beleaguered Isle of the Mighty. Darkest evil descends upon Britain’s shores in many guises. Fragile alliances fray and tear, threatening all the noble liege has won with his wisdom and his blood. His most trusted counselor—the warrior, bard and kingmaker whom legend will name Merlin—is himself to be tested on a mystical journey back through his own extraordinary past. So in a black time of plague and pestilence, it is Arthur who must stand alone against a great and terrible adversary. For only this way can he truly win immortality—and the name to treasure above all others:


“Though Lawhead brilliantly creates an authentic and vivid Arthurian Britain, he never forsakes the sense of wonder that has graced the legend throughout the ages.”—Publishers Weekly

From Publishers Weekly

Oct 03, 1994 – The early years of Arthur's reign-his crowning, marriage and the first major test of his leadership-are chronicled in this atmospheric fourth volume of Lawhead's Pendragon Cycle (Taliesin; Merlin; Arthur). When Myrdinn Emrys (known in later ages as Merlin) failed to unite the British kings after Uther Pendragon's death, he took the young Arthur, son of Aurelius (once Pendragon himself), to be raised in hiding. When the boy came of age, he defeated the various kings and gained their sometimes grudging allegiance (as chronicled in Arthur). Now he is to be crowned in Londonium, where the Irish warrior princess Gwenhwyvar comes to claim his hand in marriage, as previously promised. While Arthur and his closest companions dally in Ierne (Ireland), a calamity occurs as hordes of vandals, harried from Carthage, fall upon the nearly defenseless island. Led by Arthur and aided by the British, the Irish repel the invaders, who turn their attentions to Britain, where they initiate a scorched-earth war that tests Arthur's leadership and the loyalty of the reluctant kings. Though Lawhead brilliantly creates an authentic and vivid Arthurian Britain, he never forsakes the sense of wonder that has graced the Arthurian legend throughout the ages.

Customer Reviews

Fantastic story! Too bad it had to end!

Highly recommend!

Other Books in This Series

View in iTunes
  • $6.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Fantasy
  • Published: Oct 13, 2009
  • Publisher: Harper Voyager
  • Print Length: 448 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 4, The Pendragon Cycle
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings

More by Stephen R. Lawhead