Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening Apple Books.If Apple Books doesn't open, click the Books app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

Pretty as a Peach

Book 4, The Sex and Sweet Tea Series

This book can be downloaded and read in Apple Books on your Mac or iOS device.


Mainer Farms is steeped in family history, but it’s also deep in debt from the effects of the ever-changing farming industry. Not about to let his family’s legacy go under, Colt Mancinkus is willing to do anything he can to save the farm. 
Darby Culhane is the new farmer in Whynot, North Carolina, and she’s proving to be quite the forbidden temptation for Colt. Darby isn’t looking for anything but a fresh start, and she’s got it all figured out. Get settled in? Check. Apply for the rural county grant? Check. Confrontation with the steaming mad, smoking hot local farmer? Well, that wasn’t on the agenda. 
As pretty as she is sweet, Colt can’t help but be drawn to Darby’s…peaches. No really, she’s a peach farmer. Get that mind out of the gutter, and get on down to the farm to see what happens when circumstances force Colt and Darby to team up. They may just find that the peach trees aren’t the only things in bloom.

Customer Reviews

Refreshing romance

Disclaimer: ARC received in exchange for an honest review

Pretty as a Peach is the standalone fourth installment in Juliette Poe’s Sex and Sweet Tea series of chaste, sassy southern romances. Each novel increases the population of the small-town, farming community, Whynot, NC, pairing a northern transplant with a homegrown Mancinkus sibling.

In Poe’s latest novel, she pairs the youngest Mancinkus, Colt, with Darby McCulhane, the ex-sister-in-law of Jake (love interest of Laken Mancinkus, as introduced in the previous novel, Barking Up the Wrong Tree). Originally meant to be nemeses because they were vying for the same agricultural grant, Colt and Darby quickly (and a little too simply) dispatch with this issue, and it’s easily replaced by mutual attraction, chemistry, and common ground. Of course, their budding relationship is complicated by a duplicitous soon-to-be ex-husband and a malcontent seven-year-old.

Colt easily finds his place in Darby’s world, forging a place in her daughter Linnie’s life, too. Their courtship is customarily southern, slow and sweet, and pretty stinking swoony, until they hit a Mitch McCulhane-sized speed bump. But even that doesn’t derail the relationship for long. I’m just not sure the happily-ever-after was fully earned. It felt like it, too, came too easily, and with little effort or work. I’m not into overly dramatic relationship complications, but I did feel like their somewhat complex issues were oversimplified and resolution achieved without the time and attention it was due.

Again, the town of Whynot charms, and the cast of secondary characters continues to engage and enchant readers. In my inexpert opinion, the books in this series need 1000% more Morri D, who is a star. The last chapter was hysterical, for me the best part of the whole book, and serves to set up Larkin’s book, creating such anticipation. Again, as I’ve previously stated in regards to this series, I wish more of the “action” took place on the pages instead of being alluded to and left to the readers’ imaginations, but I’ve come to accept that this seems to be a stylistic choice that is trademark of the series as a whole.

Overall, Pretty as a Peach is another delightfully cute, charming entry in Poe’s inaugural series, and I highly recommend it to all romance readers and book lovers looking for a sweet, easy, pleasant escape from reality.

Fun, sweet, fast read!!!

**Received ARC for a fair and honest review**
Pretty as a Peach is the 4th book in the Sex and Sweet Tea series. This is Colt and Darby's story. This book can be read as a standalone, though I think that reading them in order makes it better. I like knowing who the characters are when they are discussed. I really loved Pretty as a Peach, and had a hard time putting it down. Darby left Illinois and everything she knew to get away from her controlling, abusive husband with her 7 year old daughter. Colt's never had a long term relationship, he wants what his parents have and isn't going to settle. When Darby gets to Whynot to take over as the Operations Manager of Farrington Farms, Colt isn't too happy when she applies for the same grant he is. He is angry, very angry and is bound and determined to dislike the woman trying to usurp the grant from him.
I really liked Colt, Darby and her daughter Linnie. Colt had no issues with Darby having a child, and including her. I liked that in the story Colt didn't just want Darby with the child playing second fiddle to the relationship like I've read before. I really enjoyed the chemistry between Colt and Darby, and enjoyed how Colt didn't keep his head up his backside when there was turmoil and confronted it head on. If you are not familiar with this series, don't let the series name fool you. These books do not describe sexual situations and only allude to them, or mention that it occurred. I absolutely cannot wait for Larkin's story... the teaser at the end! Whew!!! Loved the teaser! Can't wait for the next book, to get updates on the other characters and get the new story!! Hope this helps! Happy Reading!!!


I have really loved the last two books in this series, but Book 4 wasn’t my favorite. I enjoyed it for the most part, but I struggled to feel the connection between Darby and Colt. I loved them both individually and I loved the resolution, but I found it a bit slow at times.

Other Books in This Series

Pretty as a Peach
View in iTunes
  • $3.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Contemporary
  • Published: Dec 07, 2017
  • Publisher: Big Dog Books, LLC
  • Seller: Big Dog Books, LLC
  • Print Length: 269 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 4, The Sex and Sweet Tea Series
  • Requirements: This book can only be viewed on an iOS device with Apple Books on iOS 12 or later, iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings