Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening Apple Books.If Apple Books doesn't open, click the Books app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

Promise of Blood

Book 1, The Powder Mage Trilogy

This book can be downloaded and read in Apple Books on your Mac or iOS device.


The Age of Kings is dead . . . and I have killed it.

It's a bloody business overthrowing a king...
Field Marshal Tamas' coup against his king sent corrupt aristocrats to the guillotine and brought bread to the starving. But it also provoked war with the Nine Nations, internal attacks by royalist fanatics, and the greedy to scramble for money and power by Tamas's supposed allies: the Church, workers unions, and mercenary forces.

It's up to a few...
Stretched to his limit, Tamas is relying heavily on his few remaining powder mages, including the embittered Taniel, a brilliant marksman who also happens to be his estranged son, and Adamat, a retired police inspector whose loyalty is being tested by blackmail.

But when gods are involved...
Now, as attacks batter them from within and without, the credulous are whispering about omens of death and destruction. Just old peasant legends about the gods waking to walk the earth. No modern educated man believes that sort of thing. But they should...

In a rich, distinctive world that mixes magic with technology, who could stand against mages that control gunpowder and bullets? PROMISE OF BLOOD is the start of a new epic fantasy series from Brian McClellan.
Winner of the David Gemmell Morningstar Award for Best Debut Fantasy.

From Publishers Weekly

Mar 18, 2013 – Borrowing from the French Revolution, McClellan s debut (the first in a planned trilogy) is a gritty tale of political overthrow complicated by divine retribution. Field Marshal Tamas leads a coup to prevent his country from being handed over to the hated Kez, sending profligate King Manhouch and his nobles to the guillotine. Concerned by their cryptic final oaths about Kresimir s Promise, Tamas hires former inspector Adamat to learn the phrase s meaning. Tamas s son, Taniel Two-Shot, meanwhile chases a rogue sorceress to the Kez-besieged Holy City, Kresim Kurga, to stop her from summoning a vengeful deity. McClellan neatly mixes intrigue and action, effectively showing the tensions among uneasy allies (military, church, underworld) in a society where new forces like labor unions, gunpowder-armed soldiers, and explosion-causing powder mages clash with traditional magics, mores, and beliefs. While the villains are too obvious, they re balanced by sympathetic portraits of dutiful folks caught up on both sides of the rebellion.

Customer Reviews

So much promise but dies out in the second half...

This book started out fantastic. The world of the Nine (the collective name for the important countries in this series) is fantastically spun, with vivid imagery of Adro and its capital Adopest. Along with all the intregue of different types of magicians, I thought this book was going to be a new favorite of mine. Then it just stalled: Adamat's (one of the POV characters) storyline becomes boring and repetitive, Tamas’ storyline has almost nothing to do with war (the entire premis of his character really), and Taniels storyline, which arguably started with the most promise, goes absolutely nowhere, with some forced character development and some almost literal deus ex machina. It was painful to see such a fantastically begun book torn down, but thats not to say there isnt hope for the rest of the series.

Other Books in This Series

Promise of Blood
View in iTunes
  • $9.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Epic
  • Published: Apr 16, 2013
  • Publisher: Orbit
  • Seller: Hachette Digital, Inc.
  • Print Length: 592 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 1, The Powder Mage Trilogy
  • Requirements: This book can only be viewed on an iOS device with Apple Books on iOS 12 or later, iBooks 1.5 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings