Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening Apple Books.If Apple Books doesn't open, click the Books app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download


Book One of the Godslayer Chronicles

This book can be downloaded and read in Apple Books on your Mac or iOS device.


Four millennia have passed since the gods came to Myrillia, creating the nine lands of peace as a haven from the nightmarish, accursed Hinterlands. In all this time nothing has disturbed the harmony of the nine lands.
But now the goddess of the Summering Isles has been murdered. The only witness is Tylar de Noche, a crippled and disgraced former Shadowknight. As he holds the dying goddess, her last breath bestows a powerful blessing on him-a mark that heals his broken body. A mark that many see as proof that he killed a god. A mark that unleashes a powerful force of darkness within him.

Chased across Myrillia by enemies both human and ethereal, Tylar must uncover and face down a being powerful enough to kill an immortal-the true godslayer. For if he fails, all of Myrillia will fall into shadow.

From Publishers Weekly

Jun 13, 2005 – For 4,000 years, the people of the Nine Lands have lived peacefully under the guidance of their hundred gods. When the goddess Meeryn is murdered, the peace is shattered, and Tylar de Noche, a defrocked knight who as sole witness is now sole suspect, must, rather predictably, find the killer and prove himself innocent. Tylar isn't too bright, but fortunately he can turn to Delia, a priestess who conveniently doubles as love interest, and to Rogger, a thief wise to the ways of the criminal underworld. Slogging hither and yon for scraps of clues, the three begin to suspect that the supposedly pacific gods are in fact engaged in an ongoing struggle for power and control. The self-absorption of the gods and the apathetic ignorance of the people form stumbling blocks on Tylar's quest, forcing a slow pace that makes sense in context but is frustrating. Once Clemens (Wit'ch Fire, etc.) understands that what characters do with their knowledge is more interesting than how they get it, things should pick up in future installments.

Customer Reviews

Don't buy- no ending

I enjoyed the two books in the God slayer Chronicles, but there's no sign that the author will ever do a third book or finish the series. I bought the first book and the sequel as soon as it came out in 2006. With his Banned & banished witch series, He released a book pretty much every year for five books, and hinterland came out about a year after Shadowfall. It's been about eight years since he wrote this book, and the only thing I've heard on fansites is that he lost interest in the series because it didn't make him enough money. He has been all over the place writing different books under James Rollins but it does not seem that he will ever come back and Give me a satisfactory conclusion to this series. It's sad because I was such a huge fan ever since witch fire, and I went back and read a lot of his other books like Indiana Jones, Relic, Black order, and subterranean. I cannot ever buy another one of his novels again in good conscience knowing He no longer cares about his fans, only about how much money he can make. Sure, everybody needs money, but he has more than enough that he could take a few minutes out to finish what he started.

View in iTunes
  • $7.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Epic
  • Published: Jul 05, 2005
  • Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
  • Print Length: 528 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Requirements: This book can only be viewed on an iOS device with Apple Books on iOS 12 or later, iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings