Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening Apple Books.If Apple Books doesn't open, click the Books app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download


This book can be downloaded and read in Apple Books on your Mac or iOS device.


A New York Times bestseller
A Publishers Weekly bestseller

From bestselling author Kiersten White comes a brand-new series set in the world of Buffy the Vampire Slayer that introduces a new Slayer as she grapples with the responsibility of managing her incredible powers that she’s just beginning to understand.

Into every generation a Slayer is born…

Nina and her twin sister, Artemis, are far from normal. It’s hard to be when you grow up at the Watcher’s Academy, which is a bit different from your average boarding school. Here teens are trained as guides for Slayers—girls gifted with supernatural strength to fight the forces of darkness. But while Nina’s mother is a prominent member of the Watcher’s Council, Nina has never embraced the violent Watcher lifestyle. Instead she follows her instincts to heal, carving out a place for herself as the school medic.

Until the day Nina’s life changes forever.

Thanks to Buffy, the famous (and infamous) Slayer that Nina’s father died protecting, Nina is not only the newest Chosen One—she’s the last Slayer, ever. Period.

As Nina hones her skills with her Watcher-in-training, Leo, there’s plenty to keep her occupied: a monster fighting ring, a demon who eats happiness, a shadowy figure that keeps popping up in Nina’s dreams…

But it’s not until bodies start turning up that Nina’s new powers will truly be tested—because someone she loves might be next.

One thing is clear: Being Chosen is easy. Making choices is hard.

From Publishers Weekly

Nov 12, 2018 – The first book in this new series by White (The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein) is an epic, relatable story that will appeal to new and veteran Buffy the Vampire Slayer fans as it follows events from the Buffy comics series. With the destruction of the Seed of Wonder "the source of all magic on earth," the world's magic has disappeared and with it the ability for new Slayers to be chosen. Twins Nina and Artemis, 16, come from a long line of Watchers (the entities that guide Slayers), and after Buffy decimated the Watchers before the book's start, the twins and their mother, who survived, move to the now mostly empty Watcher retreat in Ireland, where the last of the Watchers can regroup. Nina, a protected Healer, works as the castle's medic, happily to be part of Watcher Support, while Artemis trains for the physical side of Support and keeps Nina safe. When it is revealed that she's the last Slayer, chosen as the magic died, Nina quickly learns that being Chosen may not be as important as the choices one makes. Resplendent with quirky, endearing characters and imagination-sparking details, this novel feeds the soul of Buffy devotees, keeping the Buffy spirit alive. Ages 14 up.

Customer Reviews

Buffy fans will love this book

Buffy fans will love this book,while it is not Buffy,it is the next generation of slayers.

View in iTunes
  • $10.99
  • Level: Grades 9 and Above
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Fantasy
  • Published: Jan 08, 2019
  • Publisher: Simon Pulse
  • Print Length: 416 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Requirements: This book can only be viewed on an iOS device with Apple Books on iOS 12 or later, iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings