Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download


Book 2, The Snowy Series

This book can be downloaded and read in iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


     The Snowy Series #2
     Set in 1957—1987

What happened next?
Ruth Doan MacDougall received countless letters from readers of  THE CHEERLEADER asking this question. She answered it by writing SNOWY, which chronicles Snowy’s next thirty years.
SNOWY describes how Snowy and her friends, who came of age in the security of the 1950s when roles were accepted and defined, develop  during the next three decades—a time of rapid changes in American society—as each character follows a unique path, coping with the challenges of college, marriage, career, and changes within immediate and extended families. 

 “Readers should prepare to laugh out loud and cry in earnest as former high school cheerleader Henrietta Snow grows up in this delightful sequel to THE CHEERLEADER.”
Library Journal

From Publishers Weekly

Aug 30, 1993 – Continuing the story she began in The Cheerleader , MacDougall traces the life of Henrietta Snow from 1957, when she leaves her New Hampshire hometown and middle-class parents to attend Bennington College, through a crisis in late middle-age. At Bennington, Snowy concentrates on becoming a poet and expanding her realms of knowledge, specifically about dating and sex. Her subsequent life seems satisfying--she has a loving marriage, bears a daughter and publishes several collections of poetry--but Snowy believes her potential remains unfulfilled. She develops agoraphobia and finds herself immersed in her past, analyzing two mercurial childhood friendships and recalling her high school sweetheart. When her depressive husband commits suicide, she finally confronts the toll her illness has taken on her relationships and her poetry. Although often sensitive, this portrait of a woman adrift lacks focus and jars the reader with an awkwardly paced and structured narrative.

Other Books in This Series

View in iTunes
  • $7.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Fiction & Literature
  • Published: Mar 22, 1993
  • Publisher: Frigate Books
  • Seller: Ruth Macdougall
  • Print Length: 370 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 2, The Snowy Series
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.5 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings

We have not received enough ratings to display an average for this book.