Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening Apple Books.If Apple Books doesn't open, click the Books app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download


Book 6, The Karen Vail Series

This book can be downloaded and read in Apple Books on your Mac or iOS device.


FBI profiler Karen Vail is haunted by a serial killer from her rookie days in a “pulse-pounding” thriller by a USA Today bestselling author (Providence Journal).

New York City: home to world-renowned museums, theater, restaurants, iconic sports franchises. Central Park. Wall Street. And an infamous serial killer who’s terrorized the Big Apple for decades.

The year is 1995 and the NYPD has just graduated a promising new patrol officer named Karen Vail. The rookie’s first day on the job is anything but easy when she finds herself at the crime scene of a young woman murdered in an unusual manner. Vail is unsure of what she’s looking at or what it means—but it’s a case that will weigh on her mind for nearly twenty years.

As the years pass, Vail’s career takes unexpected twists and turns—as does the case that’s come to be known as Hades. Now a skilled FBI profiler, will Vail be in a better position to catch the killer? Or will Hades prove to be Karen Vail’s hell on earth?

The character who has captivated readers worldwide—and who won the praise of literary giants Michael Connelly, James Patterson, and Nelson DeMille—returns in a story that captures the experiences that shaped the revered profiler and made her the top cop she is today.

From Publishers Weekly

Sep 15, 2014 – Jacobson's intriguing sixth Karen Vail novel (after 2013's No Way Out) chronicles the first case that his heroine handled as a rookie NYPD patrol officer. In 1995, Vail views her first murder victim, a woman savagely attacked in a Manhattan brownstone. Sgt. Carmine Russo, a seasoned homicide detective, acts as Vail's mentor in what develops into a serial killer case. The killings continue over the years, always with the same telltale MO and lack of meaningful evidence. Meanwhile, in a tragic story that parallels Vail's rise to successful FBI profiler, a fight at an Astoria, Queens, bowling alley in 1973 starts a downward spiral that eventually crushes two immigrant Greek families and colors the childhoods of brother and sister Cassandra and Dimitri and their friend Niklaus. Readers will have little trouble figuring out the killer's identity, but series fans will appreciate the extensive background information that details Vail's growth as an investigator.

Customer Reviews

Great Book

It's hard to start a series late in the game, but I liked this book a lot. The story takes you back to the beginning of Karen Vail's career so it's easy to pick up the plot. Hard to put down - missed my subway stop a few times.


Entertaining and exciting! Just what I love in a mystery!

Other Books in This Series

Inmate 1577
No Way Out
View in iTunes
  • $8.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Mysteries & Thrillers
  • Published: Oct 07, 2014
  • Publisher: Open Road Media
  • Seller: OpenRoad Integrated Media, LLC
  • Print Length: 432 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 6, The Karen Vail Series
  • Requirements: This book can only be viewed on an iOS device with Apple Books on iOS 12 or later, iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings