Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening Apple Books.If Apple Books doesn't open, click the Books app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

The Devil's Workshop

Book 3, Scotland Yard's Murder Squad

This book can be downloaded and read in Apple Books on your Mac or iOS device.


They thought he was gone, but they were wrong. Jack the Ripper is loose in London once more.

Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad faces the most shocking case of its existence, in the extraordinary new historical thriller from the author of the acclaimed national bestsellers The Yard and The Black Country.

London, 1890. A small group of the city’s elite, fed up with the murder rate, have made it their business to capture violent criminals and mete out their own terrible brand of retribution. Now they are taking it a step further: They have arranged for four murderers to escape from prison, and into the group’s hands.

But the plan goes wrong. The killers elude them, and now it is up to Walter Day, Nevil Hammersmith, and the rest of Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad to hunt the convicts down before they can resume their bloody spree. But the Murder Squad may already be too late. The killers have retribution in mind, and one of them is heading straight toward a member of the Murder Squad, and his family.

And that isn’t even the worst of it. During the escape, one of the killers has stumbled upon the location of another notorious murderer, one thought gone for good, but who is now prepared to join forces with them.

And Saucy Jack has learned some new tricks while he’s been away.

From Publishers Weekly

Mar 24, 2014 – Heavy-handed telegraphing of plot turns and contrived drama mar Grecian's third Victorian thriller featuring Insp. Walter Day (after 2013's The Black Country). When a deliberate train derailment outside a London prison destroys the prison's wall, a few convicts (the number is uncertain) escape through the breach. Among them are some vicious murderers, including Geoffrey Cinderhouse, the first killer Day captured as a member of Scotland Yard's Murder Squad. Day is worried because Cinderhouse, who visited Day's wife, Claire, shortly before his apprehension, knows where Day lives and could pose a threat to the now pregnant Claire. Several retired inspectors, including Day's mentor, Adrian March, join the manhunt, whose challenges are amplified by the reappearance of Jack the Ripper a year or so after the Whitechapel slayings. Readers who find the storyline a frustrating tease will hope that Grecian returns to form in the next installment.

Customer Reviews

The Devil's Workshop

I enjoyed the first Walter Day novel and had high expectations for this. The Devil's Workshop met those expectations. This is a good read.

Other Books in This Series

The Devil's Workshop
View in iTunes
  • $11.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Mysteries & Thrillers
  • Published: May 20, 2014
  • Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
  • Print Length: 400 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 3, Scotland Yard's Murder Squad
  • Requirements: This book can only be viewed on an iOS device with Apple Books on iOS 12 or later, iBooks 1.5 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings