Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

The Harvest Man

Book 4, Scotland Yard's Murder Squad

This book can be downloaded and read in iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad—and Jack the Ripper—return, in the extraordinary new historical thriller from the author of the acclaimed national bestseller The Yard.
In The Devil’s Workshop, London discovered that Jack the Ripper was back, sending the city—and Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad—into chaos. But now it is even worse. Not only is the Ripper still at large, but so is another killer just as bad.

For Inspector Walter Day, it has been a difficult time. His wife has given birth to twins, his hostile in-laws have come to stay, and a leg injury has kept him at his desk. But when the Harvest Man begins killing, carving people’s faces off their skulls, the Yard knows they need Day in the field.

Not so Sergeant Nevil Hammersmith. Rash actions have cost him his job, but that doesn’t stop his obsessive hunt for the Ripper. When the mutilated bodies of prostitutes start turning up again, Hammersmith enlists the help of a criminal network to stop Saucy Jack, his methods carrying him further and further from the ideals of the Yard, so far in fact that he may never be able to find his way back.

Of course, the Ripper’s been playing a game with him—with Walter Day, as well. He is pushing both of them to their limits, and what happens when they get there . . . no one can say.

From the Hardcover edition.

From Publishers Weekly

Mar 09, 2015 – In 2014's The Devil's Workshop, Jack the Ripper targeted Insp. Walter Day and his loved ones, having escaped the clutches of the Karstphanomen, a group of vigilantes who had captured and tortured the Ripper and whose ranks included Adrian March, a retired inspector who was once Day's mentor. Now, in Grecian's formulaic fourth late-Victorian crime novel, Day must contend with not only the Ripper but also the Harvest Man, a sadist who lurks in his victims' attics before overpowering couples and slicing their faces to ribbons as part of his twisted search for his parents. The loyal Nevil Hammersmith, who has left the London police force after yet another close brush with death, assists Day. Hammersmith's passion for bringing killers to book is one of the high points in an installment that suffers from underdeveloped characters and routine plotting. This isn't close to the series's best, 2013's The Black Country.

Other Books in This Series

The Harvest Man
View in iTunes
  • $11.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Mysteries & Thrillers
  • Published: May 19, 2015
  • Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
  • Seller: Penguin Group (USA) Inc.
  • Print Length: 416 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 4, Scotland Yard's Murder Squad
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.5 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings