Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

The Kiss of Deception

Book 1, The Remnant Chronicles - The Remnant Chronicles: Book One

This book can be downloaded and read in iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


In a society steeped in tradition, Princess Lia's life follows a preordained course. As First Daughter, she is expected to have the revered gift of sight—but she doesn't—and she knows her parents are perpetrating a sham when they arrange her marriage to secure an alliance with a neighboring kingdom—to a prince she has never met.
On the morning of her wedding, Lia flees to a distant village. She settles into a new life, hopeful when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deception abounds, and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—even as she finds herself falling in love.
The Kiss of Deception is the first book in Mary E. Pearson's Remnant Chronicles.

From Publishers Weekly

May 05, 2014 – Lia is a young princess doomed to an arranged marriage with an unknown prince in another kingdom, their union an instrument of a needed alliance. On the day of her wedding, Lia flees with a trusted friend, Pauline, traveling until they reach a seaside town where Lia assumes a life as a barmaid at a local inn, reveling in her newfound anonymity. After two handsome young men, Rafe and Kaden, arrive at the inn, Lia is taken with both, and they with her; readers, unlike Lia, know that one is an assassin sent to kill her, the other, the prince she jilted. Pearson (the Jenna Fox Chronicles) is off to an extraordinary start with her fantasy series, the Remnant Chronicles, creating an alluring world and romance that's ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore and Megan Whalen Turner. Peppered with excerpts from sacred texts and traditional songs, the novel has a formidable heroine at its core, who is as quick with a knife as she is to laugh or cry. Pearson maintains the mystery of Rafe and Kaden's identities, pulling readers through this masterfully crafted story. Ages 14 up.

Customer Reviews

Love it

This was a great book! I couldn't put it down. I read it in three days it was that good. I cannot wait until the additional books come out.


I love this book!!!! I couldn't stop reading it and usually I never read unless I have to. This book was amazing and I can't wait until the next book comes out!!!


I loved the book. The plot was amazing and to read and feel the away she did in her bravery and determination was SPECTACULAR all in all. I would love to read the next book if she writes another!

Other Books in This Series

The Kiss of Deception
View in iTunes
  • $7.99
  • Level: Grades 9-13
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Fantasy
  • Published: Jul 08, 2014
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
  • Seller: Macmillan
  • Print Length: 496 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 1, The Remnant Chronicles
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.5 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings