Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

The Lady of Secrets

Book 6, The Dark Queen Saga - A Novel

This book can be downloaded and read in iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


This brilliant new installment in bestselling author Susan Carroll’s mesmerizing Dark Queen historical fiction series is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.
Queen Catherine de Medici is dead, and for Meg Wolfe—successor in a line of legendary healers and mystics known as “daughters of the earth”—it is a time of new beginnings. She strives to be ordinary, invisible in the mists of Faire Isle, and is determined to put the terrifying days of a wicked mother and turbulent childhood behind her. But soon a summons from King James will rekindle a menacing power from the past, bringing haunting visions of a nightmare already unfolding—and a shattering mystery steeped in magic that will determine a destiny from which she cannot hide.
Meg’s task: Save the king from the most insidious form of treachery, invisible to those who do not possess Meg’s extraordinary gifts. But as Meg discovers, there are more sinister motivations at play in the king’s world. Torn between two very different men whose motives and secrets are tied inexorably to her own fate, Meg learns that she can no longer trust anyone or anything—not even her own heart.
Praise for Susan Carroll’s Twilight of a Queen
“[Susan] Carroll’s vivid portrayal of Catherine de Medici is mesmerizing, but the evil queen does not overshadow either the romance or the strong characterization and plot that are Carroll’s hallmarks.”—RT Book Reviews
“Fascinating . . . full of twists and turns and a lot of intriguing historical detail.”—Night Owl Reviews

From the Trade Paperback edition.

From Publishers Weekly

Oct 08, 2012 – With the next installment in her Dark Queen series, Carroll continues in the world of Twilight of a Queen. Margaret Wolfe, the daughter of mad witch Cassandra Lascelles, has a dark past with her mother s Silver Rose coven. It is 1605 and Meg has fought hard to forget her past and her mother, and become a daughter of the earth. But when Sir Patrick Graham comes to Brittany asking for Meg s help in curing King James of a curse that bears her drowned mother s particularly poisonous signature, Meg has no choice but to return with him to England, despite oblique warnings from Sir Patrick s companion, Armagil Blackwood. In England, plots abound, and Meg struggles to learn who she can trust. Though the book can stand alone from the series, readers familiar with previous books will have an easier time understanding some references. Carroll deftly crafts her tale, lulling readers into false truths before yanking the carpet out from under them. Though the villains this time out lack that edge of Carroll s previous evildoer, Catherine de Medici, this is enough fun to convert new readers into fans.

Other Books in This Series

The Lady of Secrets
View in iTunes
  • $11.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Historical
  • Published: Dec 11, 2012
  • Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
  • Seller: Penguin Random House LLC
  • Print Length: 448 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 6, The Dark Queen Saga
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings