Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening Apple Books.If Apple Books doesn't open, click the Books app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

The Pain Season

This book can be downloaded and read in Apple Books on your Mac or iOS device.


On the night of the equinox, Zan O'Gara learns monsters are real.

When Zan can no longer deny her lover is hiding things, she confronts him. Barakiel assures her he will soon share his secrets, but Zan dreads the day, afraid the love of her life is connected to a ritual murder. Her heart won't allow her to believe he could harm an innocent man. The truth is worse than she could have imagined. 

As Barakiel's power as a Covalent warrior grows, so does the strength of his father's obsession with him. Lucifer spreads his dark tendrils through the Earthly Realm using a network of depraved men and Barakiel soon realizes his love has drawn a target on Zan's back. Events at the autumnal equinox make this clear to Zan as well. Barakiel has lied to her.

And so begins a season of pain and rage. A season of traitors and war. And love. Like the elemental forces that made him, Barakiel's love does not end.

"A commendable follow-up with otherworldly action, down-to-earth melodrama, and sensuality in between." — Kirkus Reviews

Warning: This book contains foul language, violence, and explicit sex. Adults only! This is the second novel in a five-part series. The epic science fantasy continues in The Vengeance Season,  Book III of the Covalent Series, available for purchase now.

The Pain Season: Book II of the Covalent Series

109,817 words

Customer Reviews

A unique universe to get absorbed in

The Pain Season, Book II in Libby Doyle’s Covalent Series, may be even better than the first installment, The Passion Season.
The Pain Season jumps right at you from the get-go with a throbbing action-packed sequence that puts the main characters, Barakiel, a superhuman warrior from another dimension, and his human love FBI agent Zan O’Gara in imminent danger. I don’t want to give too much away but Zan is in the fight of her life in an exciting, fast-moving tour de force scene.
After the gangbusters beginning, Doyle — flashing her knack for pitch-perfect, right-on dialogue — takes the reader’s feelings everywhere from the heart of science fiction darkness to the inner-workings of the human heart.
Oh, and when Zan finally discovers the truth about Barakiel, it is more inconceivable than her craziest speculation. We zoom along with her on her rollercoaster ride of emotions.
So hitch a ride on The Pain Season, you’ll be thrilled you did, and if you haven’t read Book I, The Passion Season yet, buy that one and read it first.
Doyle has created a universe of the imagination that is unique and really gets you thinking. Bring on Book III!

The Pain Season
View in iTunes
  • $3.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Fantasy
  • Published: Oct 31, 2016
  • Publisher: Fairhill Publishing LLC
  • Seller: Draft2Digital, LLC
  • Print Length: 453 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Requirements: This book can only be viewed on an iOS device with Apple Books on iOS 12 or later, iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings

We have not received enough ratings to display an average for this book.