Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

The Pain Season

This book is available for download with iBooks on your Mac or iOS device, and with iTunes on your computer. Books can be read with iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


"A commendable follow-up with otherworldly action, down-to-earth melodrama, and sensuality in between." — Kirkus Reviews

What would you do if you discovered angels are real?


Tonight’s the night. Rainer Barakiel is going to tell me all his secrets. I thought I’d be excited, but I feel like someone shoved a knife into my gut.

Heh. Fitting, considering I met Rainer because of his expertise in edged weapons. The daggers used in that ritual sacrifice became our best lead thanks to him. What kind of omen is it, that I met the love of my life because someone found a human spleen in the bushes?

I didn’t expect someone like him. When he opened his door I couldn’t talk, I was so stunned. God, how I flirted with him. Hell of a way for an FBI agent to act. This whole relationship is a hell of a way for an FBI agent to act. I didn’t want to face that he was hiding things from me.

What if he has something to do with this murder?

I’m being paranoid. He’s denied being a criminal and I believe him. I don’t see how my instincts could be so wrong. He can’t be bad. He can’t.

He’s hiding things from me, but he loves me. I feel it. I feel it. Maybe he didn’t expect to fall in love with me, but he did, and now he wants out. He’s going to confess, leave it all behind. For me.

C'mon, O'Gara. Get ahold of yourself.

I wonder, after he tells me all his secrets, will this become a wacky story we love to tell? Or a story I tell only to myself, alone in a stale-smelling apartment, stewing in pain? The story of how my heart got damaged beyond repair.

WARNING: This book contains foul language, violence, and explicit sex. Adults only, please. Although not a cliffhanger, this is the second in a five-book series. The story begins in The Passion Season and will continue in The Vengeance Season, arriving autumn 2017.  

The Pain Season: Book II of the Covalent Series

108,995 words

Customer Reviews

A unique universe to get absorbed in

The Pain Season, Book II in Libby Doyle’s Covalent Series, may be even better than the first installment, The Passion Season.
The Pain Season jumps right at you from the get-go with a throbbing action-packed sequence that puts the main characters, Barakiel, a superhuman warrior from another dimension, and his human love FBI agent Zan O’Gara in imminent danger. I don’t want to give too much away but Zan is in the fight of her life in an exciting, fast-moving tour de force scene.
After the gangbusters beginning, Doyle — flashing her knack for pitch-perfect, right-on dialogue — takes the reader’s feelings everywhere from the heart of science fiction darkness to the inner-workings of the human heart.
Oh, and when Zan finally discovers the truth about Barakiel, it is more inconceivable than her craziest speculation. We zoom along with her on her rollercoaster ride of emotions.
So hitch a ride on The Pain Season, you’ll be thrilled you did, and if you haven’t read Book I, The Passion Season yet, buy that one and read it first.
Doyle has created a universe of the imagination that is unique and really gets you thinking. Bring on Book III!

The Pain Season
View in iTunes
  • $3.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Fantasy
  • Published: Oct 31, 2016
  • Publisher: Fairhill Publishing LLC
  • Seller: Draft2Digital, LLC
  • Print Length: 450 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings

We have not received enough ratings to display an average for this book.

More by Libby Doyle