Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

Through Waters Deep (Waves of Freedom Book #1)

1, Waves of Freedom - A Novel

This book can be downloaded and read in iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


It is 1941 and America teeters on the brink of war. Outgoing naval officer Ensign Jim Avery escorts British convoys across the North Atlantic in a brand-new destroyer, the USS Atwood. Back on shore, Boston Navy Yard secretary Mary Stirling does her work quietly and efficiently, happy to be out of the limelight. Yet, despite her reserved nature, she never could back down from a challenge. When evidence of sabotage on the Atwood is found, Jim and Mary must work together to uncover the culprit. A bewildering maze of suspects emerges, and Mary is dismayed to find that even someone close to her is under suspicion. With the increasing pressure, Jim and Mary find that many new challenges--and dangers--await them.

Sarah Sundin takes readers to the tense months before the US entered WWII. Readers will encounter German U-boats and torpedoes, along with the explosive power of true love, in this hopeful and romantic story.

From Publishers Weekly

Oct 19, 2015 – Sundin (A Distant Melody), exhibiting her usual flair for 1940s history and setting, will delight WWII buffs with this Waves of Freedom series opener. Boston hums with tension in the early part of 1941, as America unofficially supports but hasn't joined the Allied war effort. The destroyer USS Atwood, with young, friendly Ensign Jim Avery aboard, escorts British convoys across the North Atlantic, protecting them from German U-boats. Between missions, Jim spends time with his old high school friend, Mary Stirling, who serves quietly and effectively as a Navy Yard secretary. When she stumbles upon evidence of sabotage on the Atwood, Mary enlists Jim's help in discovering the saboteur. Her subdued ways aid her subtle sleuthing, which uncovers an alarming number of suspects. As the danger grows, so do Jim and Mary's feelings for one another, but circumstances work against their relationship becoming deeper. Both Jim and Mary navigate physical danger and emotional turmoil in their quest to defend their country and protect each other.

Customer Reviews

This is an inspiring historical romance!

The characters are so incredibly well developed that I truly felt that I knew them. I felt that if one of them walked by I would recognize them not by sight but by their personality. Both Mary Stirling and Jim Avery have deeply rooted memories from their childhood that have impacted them very profoundly shaping who they are and how they interact with others. I was drawn to each of these main characters and amazed at the simplicity of how they were gradually presented. It was as if I first became an acquaintance with them and then over time built a solid friendship with them.

The tension between the different factions over the conflict as to whether the United States should become involved in WWII was very much a driving force of the novel. It was easy to understand the reasoning of each side of the conflict and the anger and animosity that individuals felt.

Then we have the spiritual side of the story. Both Mary and Jim are Christians with a strong belief in God. I loved how as the story progressed they just naturally talked with God about their own confusion about what was going on and their feelings. I thoroughly enjoyed watching them grow and process the lessons that they were learning about themselves and trusting Him.

I won a copy of this book through a giveaway that the author held on her blog.

Enjoyable to read!

Through Waters Deep by Sarah Sundin is the first book in the Waves of Freedom series. Mary Stirling works as a secretary at the Boston Navy Yard in 1941. She has been working there for the last four years after moving away from her hometown of Vermilion, Ohio. Mary has just finished setting up for the launch of a new ship when she spots Jim Avery. Jim is from Vermilion (they grew up together). Mary liked Jim in high school, but Jim was infatuated with Mary’s best friend, Quintessa Beaumont (who was dating someone else). They start talking while they watch the launch ceremonies. After the champagne bottle is stroke against the ship, there is a commotion. Someone had changed out the champagne for gasoline (sabotage). This gets Mary excited. She loves mysteries and this gives her an opportunity to investigate a real crime. Mary and Jim start spending time together along with his friend, Arch and his girlfriend. They share a kiss just before Jim is shipped out on the destroyer Atwood. While Jim is away, Quintessa moves to town with the intentions of dating Jim (poor Mary). On the Atwood more sabotage is discovered. What is going on? Mary is determined to find out. To find out who is behind the sabotage and what happens to Jim and Mary, you will have to read Through Waters Deep.

Through Waters Deep was a good story. I was drawn in immediately. The book is a little predictable (the romance especially), but the novel is well-written. I enjoyed the characters and could relate to them (especially Mary). I liked that the book contained a mystery. We get to follow Mary through her investigation into the sabotage. I give Through Waters Deep 4 out of 5 stars. The next book in the series will tell the story of Jim’s friend, Arch Vandenberg (Anchor in the Storm April).

I received a complimentary copy of Through Waters Deep from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Through Waters Deep (Waves of Freedom Book #1)
View in iTunes
  • $0.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Religious
  • Published: Aug 04, 2015
  • Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
  • Seller: Baker Book House Company
  • Print Length: 384 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: 1, Waves of Freedom
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings