Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening Apple Books.If Apple Books doesn't open, click the Books app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

Trusting Miss Trentham

Book 3, Baleful Godmother

This book can be downloaded and read in Apple Books on your Mac or iOS device.


She's more than just an heiress... 

Letitia Trentham is noteworthy for three reasons. One, she’s extremely wealthy. Two, she can distinguish truth from lies. Three, she’s refused every man who’s ever proposed to her.

Until Letty receives a proposal she can’t turn down.

Icarus Reid barely survived the Battle of Vimeiro. He lives for one thing—to find the man who betrayed him to the French. He doesn’t want to marry Miss Trentham; he wants to use her talent for uncovering lies.

Suddenly, Letty finds herself breaking the rules, pretending to be someone she’s not, and doing things a lady would never do. But her hunt for the truth may uncover more than one secret—including the secret that haunts Icarus day and night. The secret he intends to take to his grave…

"Unique and romantic and emotional and simply amazing."
~ Ira @ NetGalley

"An amazing book which I read in one sitting. I love, love, love this book and the Baleful Godmother series, which I'm delighted to give my highest recommendation."
~ Roses R Blue

Q & A with the author

Q - How would you describe this series?

A - It's Regency England with a dash of magic. I hope to take readers on a journey from the glittering ballrooms of the aristocracy to the dark underbelly of society – with passion, danger, adventure, romance, and a little magic thrown into the mix.

I think the series could also be labelled Regency Noir, because it falls on the darker, grittier side of the romance fence, although each book contains humor, too. The stories are emotional, but not sweet (there’s sex, violence, and my heroes do swear rather badly at times!).

Q - Why did you write this series?

A - I wanted to get my well-bred heroines out of the drawing rooms and put them in the way of adventure and romance. But I didn’t want to write a series where magic is common; I wanted to write a series where only a few characters have magic, and it’s a deep, dark secret, and no one else knows.

Q - But … do magic and Regency England go together?

A - Definitely! Many, many years ago I read Sorcery and Cecelia (or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot) by Patricia Wrede and Caroline Stevermer, and totally loved it and ever since then I’ve thought that Regency England and magic go very well together. I’m not the only writer who thinks so. Just look at Mary Robinette Kowal’s Glamourist Histories and Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell.

Q - What was the catalyst for this series?

A - A magazine article that I read many years ago where celebrities were asked what magic power they’d choose and why. That got me thinking! (I’d choose shapeshifting, by the way.)

Q - How would you describe your writing?

A - Several reviewers have likened my writing to Georgette Heyer, which is the hugest compliment ever. I adore Georgette Heyer! She’s why I write historical romance, and I reread her books over and over. (If you’ve not read The Grand Sophy, please do so!) I’ve also had readers compare my writing to Courtney Milan and Mary Balogh, which are also massive compliments.

Q - Who would like this series?

A - This series will appeal to readers who enjoy the historical backdrop of Georgette Heyer and Jane Austen, the dark and sensual ‘noir’ feel of Anna Campbell, the emotion of Mary Balogh or Courtney Milan, and the magic of Patricia Rice and Mary Robinette Kowal. Quite a broad range, really!

Q - What order should I read the series in?

A - Each book, whether a novel or novella, can be read as a standalone, but many readers prefer to read them in order. And although the series is set in Regency England, a quartet of medieval novellas form the prequel.

The ideal reading order would be:

The Fey Quartet (series prequel)
Maythorn’s Wish
Hazel’s Promise
Ivy’s Choice
Larkspur’s Quest

The Baleful Godmother series
Unmasking Miss Appleby
Resisting Miss Merryweather
Trusting Miss Trentham
Claiming Mister Kemp
Ruining Miss Wrotham
Discovering Miss Dalrymple

Plus three more interlinked Baleful Godmother series to come.

Happy reading!

Customer Reviews

Trusting Miss Trentham

A really great book in a terrific series. Great characters you really care about. A new favorite author! I bought every book in the series.

Miss Trentham

I have never read a better set of books as The Baleful Godmother set. Emily Larkin has become my favorite author. She combines fantasy and historical romance sublimely. Full of emotion, adventure, undeniable love and just a bit of sexual underpinning. Not in-your-face sex but the kind that makes your heart long for that kind of love. I wholeheartedly recommend reading all of her books. Outstanding!

Trusting Miss Trentham

I have put Emily on my reread list. I like her books. This one is an adult read. There is fighting, murders and sex. As the previous books Letty also has a Faery Godmother who gives her, her gift of knowing lies. Icarus Reid drags himself into a Ball to ask Letty to help him to find some men he was with in the Army. She says she will help him. He was the lone survivor being taken by the enemy. He wants to avenge his scouts. Letty goes with him to find the one who betrayed him. While they travel Reid helps people who need help. On their way to the last man Letty finds cousins she never knew she had. Spoiler. This is a long story. It is hard to put it down. This also makes you get tissues and walk away. If you like Magic, murder and traveling all over then you should enjoy this book. I hope you choose to read this story. Enjoy your reading. Don't let this slip through your hands! I volunteered to read and review this book.

Trusting Miss Trentham
View in iTunes
  • $4.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Historical
  • Published: Jan 09, 2017
  • Publisher: Emily Larkin
  • Seller: Emily Gee
  • Print Length: 375 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 3, Baleful Godmother
  • Requirements: This book can only be viewed on an iOS device with Apple Books on iOS 12 or later, iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings